My Kettle Dinner Escapades

Dear foodies & friends,

I’m finally home for the summer, and it feels fantastic! After the chaos of the last two weeks what with exams and packing, there’s nothing like unwinding in your own room, by the balcony, with a steaming cup of tea. Whenever you want it. Pure bliss. And have I mentioned just how wonderful Bangalore weather is? Boy have I missed home. Not to mention my kitchen.

Speaking of kitchens, I was cleaning up some of the memory on my phone the other day when I came across a picture of the first ever meal I made in college. This was long before I got an electric stove, as well as assorted pots and pans of rather passable quality. This hostel dinner was made in a tiny kettle. I initially bought it to satiate my tea cravings, but soon abused it way past its capacity. 😛

I’m not really sure what to call this recipe! Its like noodles with a sweet chili peanut sauce, but I didn’t have any at the time, so I made it with pasta instead. Different, but delicious. Topped off with a soft-boiled egg, it’s pretty as a picture, and looks a lot like Korean Bibimbap 🙂

This is a ‘hostel’ centric blog, which means, my recipes on the blog are going to be EXACTLY like how I make them- mistakes, messes and cheats included. So without further ado, here is my somewhat eccentric, totally foolproof recipe for ‘I’m Not Sure What It’s Called Yet.’

71vJ3kShCzL._SL1500_
My treacherous, albeit loyal kettle

HERE’S WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  1. Quarter cup cherry tomatoes
  2. Chopped spinach- one bunch
  3. Half a bellpepper
  4. Mushrooms (they shrink, so grab as many as you can)
  5. Pasta (it works, but please, BUY SOME RICE NOODLES!)
  6. A fresh egg
  7. Peanut butter
  8. Chings Schezwan Chutney (you can find the link to it here)
  9. Teriyaki Sauce (I used KC Masterpiece Marinade Honey Teriyaki)
  10. Cilantro (optional, since about 10% of the population thinks it tastes like soap)
  11. salt
  12. pepper

DIRECTIONS:

To begin with, grab some juice, cookies or whatever you have on hand. You’re in for the long haul. That is, if you’re making this in a kettle. If not, you are one lucky bug my friend, and for you, this recipe is going to be easy peasy lemon squeezy. (I’ve been waiting to say that one for a while :P)

STEP 1

Chop up your veggies to a size of your liking and keep them separate so that the colors and flavors don’t mix. Add them into a kettle one after the other, making sure that the water doesn’t boil over. You’re going to have to switch your kettle on and off numerous times during this process; it’s monotonous, but totally worth it, so bear with me here.

STEP 2

Once you’ve got your veggies prepped, stir in the pasta/ noodles with a generous pinch of salt. This is where you really have to be patient and remind yourself that this meal is going to save you from the atrocious delicacies served to you on a daily basis. From here, it’s all smooth sailing. Scoop out your pasta, leaving behind the water which you can use to boil your egg. Let the egg simmer gently for six minutes, then remove to cool, and peel.

STEP 3

Making the sauce for this recipe is super easy and will probably lift your tired spirits, especially when you’ve tasted it and your tongue has died and gone to heaven. Simply stir in a spoon full of peanut butter, the same amount of the schezwan chutney (adjust according to spice tolerance) and two teaspoons of teriyaki sauce. Add in a little water to thin out the mixture and stir thoroughly to ensure there are no clumps. Taste and make adjustments as necessary.

STEP 4

To serve, mix the pasta/noodles with some of the sauce and place at the bottom of a bowl. Arrange your vegetables next to each other in a way that they provide some contrast. For a final flourish, slice the egg in half with the yolk oozing out right in the middle of the bowl. Pour the remainder of your sauce over the top,  Et voilà! Bon Appétite!

Serves 1

2 thoughts on “My Kettle Dinner Escapades

  1. Franzi

    Thany you so much for visiting my small blog the other day 🙂 I am glad you did so I found yours! 🙂
    What A BRILLIANT idea! I love cooking but yes indeed somtimes during travelling you have to become creative 😀 Will try this during my next travels.
    And yeeees I am one of the 10% people 😀
    Many greetings ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

