True Love is a Steaming Hot Bowl of Rasam.

Dear Foodies & Friends,

FINALLY. After a three-week slump, some introspection and a lot of self motivation (“you will STOP being such a potato”) I’m back on the blog with my favorite recipe in the entire universe! Rasam with steamed rice (and vegetables, but we’ll leave those for a future post or two! ๐Ÿ˜› ).

Rasam & Kai

Things here on campus seemed to be heading towards an endless downward spiral. The whole disaster started off with half the girls in our hostel falling sick. None of us could figure out why, but there were likely many causes- the water, and highly unpredictable weather being just a few. Anyway, after spending days in bed, moaning like a zombie, and dressing without a care in the world I was in no mood to confront work and classes. I guess you could say it got a little too overwhelming. Cooking is my favorite form of therapy, and while I have been doing some of it now and then, I didn’t want to put anything up until I really felt like I could give it my all. This is my passion and I really want to be able to do it justice. So I decided that taking a little sabbatical to sort my fuzzy head out wouldn’t be the worst idea. And noooow, back to the FOOD!

Rasam has always been my favorite dish in the entire world. It’s a tangy, mildly spicy soup (for lack of a better word) served with a vegetable side dish (or dishes) and rice. Every time I go home it’s the first thing my mom puts on the table, and it’s absolute perfection. I feel like it’s got some kind of special healing powers; One bowl of rasam when I’m ย sick, and things instantly feel so much better. Also, did I mention just how delicious it is? My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Here’s the recipe!

Rasam, beans karamadu & Aloo Curry

RASAM

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Rasam.

Ingredients

IngredientsRasam!

ย 

Directions

Isn't it perfect?

STEP 1: Cook the lentils in a pressure cooker, or if like me you don’t have one, then simmer it for ages (approximately 30-45 min) until it’s well cooked and combined. ย The lentils cook really quickly in a pressure cooker so do use one if you’ve got it. For the rest of you hostel/student folk, bare with me! This dish is worth all the time it might take.

Just a bit of Garnish!

STEP 2: Add the spices, salt, and chopped tomatoes into a pot along with the water and bring to a boil. ย When the tomatoes have broken down and the spices are well combined, pour in the dal and simmer for a further ten minutes.

IMG_0604

STEP 3: For the final garnish (tadka), heat the ghee/butter till smoking point, then add the mustard seeds (you know they’re ready when they explode with a popping sound), the jeera and the curry leaves. Pour over the rasam with a few coriander leavesย Et voilร ! Bon Appรฉtite!ย ๐Ÿ™‚

 

40 thoughts on “True Love is a Steaming Hot Bowl of Rasam.

  1. surreyfarms.net

    Love rasam!! My all-time favorite comfort food. I’ve gotten my family hooked on it too, anytime they are not well they ask me to make rasam. It’s comfort food for the soul.

    Thanks for visiting my site and liking a few posts. Glad you enjoyed the stories.

    Kalpana

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

