Green Beans & Lots of Coconut

Dear Foodies & Friends,

Back in June during the last week of my vacation, I went slightly loco in a supermarket and bought lots of colorful plates and bowls for the blog. Thanks to baggage constraints, much of it was left at home. I have been teased on many occasions for packing so much luggage, it’s hard to tell if I’ve brought clothes or snuck in a human or two.  No apologies though! Plating up is so much more fun when you’ve got colorful cutlery. If only I could have brought it all.

I can’t be trusted in places full of produce, cooking items and of course, bookstores. I’d love to be in one right now, slumped in a bean bag, nose stuck in a book, sniffing happily at the smell of fresh parchment (alright, maybe that last part sounds a little creepy, but I’m sure there are others like me right? Let me know, all you book loving people out there!) Anyhoo, I digress.

Last week I promised to put up some recipes of side dishes that I made for dinner along with rasam and rice. If you haven’t read that post yet, do check it out here! It’s delicous!

Beans poriyal

Today’s recipe is ‘beans poriyal’. It’s a dish with tender beans cooked with fresh or lightly roasted coconut and is a staple in every South Indian household. I haven’t met a single person who doesn’t love it. Every time my mom makes poriyal at home, I ask for extra coconut over the top, so you can bet I was pretty generous when I cooked it myself! 😛 Here’s the recipe.

Beans & Coconut

Beans Poriyal

  • Servings: 2-3
  • Time: 30 Min
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Rasam, beans karamadu & Aloo Curry

Ingredients

  1. 150 gms of green beans
  2. 1.5 tablespoons of fresh or toasted coconut
  3. 1 teaspoon of mustard seeds
  4. 1 teaspoon of cumin seeds
  5. Half a teaspoon of dal
  6. 1-2 chili peppers
  7.  A few coriander leaves
  8. A few curry leaves
  9. Salt to taste

 

Directions

Contrast!

STEP 1: String the beans and chop it into small pieces. Set aside. Heat some oil in a pan and add the mustard seeds, jeera (cumin seeds), the curry leaves, chili and dal. Fry until the seeds pop and the curry leaves give off a wonderful scent.

Garnish!

STEP 2: Add the beans to the pan with some water so that the vegetables cook through. This ensures that the beans don’t brown or burn. Season generously with salt. Mix the coconut through, top with some coriander leaves, Et voilà! Bon Appétite! 🙂

3 thoughts on “Green Beans & Lots of Coconut

  1. Vidya Narayan

    Beans poriyal is a personal favourite. Nicely done. Also, i hear ya on the colourful plates n bowls for blog. Ever since ive turned a blogger, i am also on the hunt for new things to purchase. Cheers to us.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

